Home

These poems are written by Renée M. Akargider, who is one of the Parkinson’s-Dancers in Freiburg.
(Translatetd by Clint Lutes)

DISORDER

I feel as though harassed
I’m incessantly disturbed
Nothing is how it should be
How it was and could be
The disorder controls me
It leaves me rather disgusted
Because I’d rather not have it
Simply undreamt

Regardless what I do
The troublemaker is there
Gets on my nerves
Although I’ve never met him
He hinders my movement
Makes me slower
You’d like to know what it’s like
Indeed it’s inside of me!

The disorder has a name
Mine is called Parkinson’s
A chronic disease
Surely you’ve heard it’s name
At the beginning it’s annoying
But unfortunately with time,
You find yourself disordered
Regretfully I announce

When you’ve never experienced
How it affects one
Then I’m enormously pleased
That you’re free in your surroundings
Seize every moment
Every single second
You never get them back.

My personal conclusion:

Surely Parkinson’s disorders me
Terribly, immensely
Useless to resist
Give up?

Most definitely not
There’s no future in that
I’ve already imagined that route
And it keeps me serene
There’s a special place inside me
My thoughts,
They are free,
For them there is no container!
My thoughts, they dance wildly,
I run and and I fly
In this way I have the feeling
That it’s me that’s winning!

In my thoughts I’m free!
There I resist every disorder
There I do what I will
Because it’s mine.

(January 2015)

***********************************************************************

BACKWARDS

This disease advances
That means that it goes forward
I guess that isn’t good
I’d rather be going backwards

Even going backwards there’s progress
It’ll take time, but
 eventually
you’ll reach your goal
Even if you won’t benefit a lot
better than nothing, still!
Even with detours, even sneaking

you’ll be able to reach your goal

Of that I’m rather sure!

(January 2015)

***********************************************************************

DANCE

I’m dancing for my life
Even as a child
And still today
And when someone asks me to dance
I usually say: But of course!
Wherever, whenever
With whomever or alone
I’ll never say no to dancing
As long as there’s a beat.

I don’t know if I’m any good
I only know that I want to dance
Even though I’ve never learnt
If there’s music, I gotta move!
I even dream of it at night

But now I have Parkinson’s …
… and since, it doesn’t – though important to me –
work as well with the dancing …
It’s as bad as it sounds.

(2014)

***********************************************************************

RHYTHM

Everyone has their rhythm
Also called bio-rhythm
Important for well-being
That is universally known

But I lost that rhythm
Yes, it’s over and done with rhythm!
For at night I’m often wide awake,
During the daytime tired and weak …
Now too mobile,
Then again immobile …
An extensive disturbance!

For that reason, that very reason,
I am to move a lot!
Ought to be ever in motion;
Or else my movement will freeze!
Ought to be doing sports, running, swimming,
Tone those muscles, will you …
That’s good for me.
Do whatcha gotta do!

It’s got to be …

But sports are more fun with music,
For example like with Zumba:
Yes! That would be just right!
But too hard to do with Parkinson’s.
I used to … not anymore …
Dry runs every day.
Boring! No doubt about it!

So I had to do something!
And so, you’re gonna laugh,
All on my own, just for myself,
(maybe it’s something for you!?)
I thought up a „Little Dance“!
Believe me it is fun!
Not flawless choreographically
But I don’t care
Because it makes me feel good!



(Oktober 2014)

***********************************************************************

WALKING TEMPO (The Speed of a Walk)

Step by step
In one direction
With the masses.
Everything strides, moving forward.
As do I, as long as I can …
Sometimes I dream of what I can do,
but in the end it’s just no more.
Sometimes I think about,
all I can no longer do!
How good I once had it:
If only I had this …
If only I had that …
But today cleverer am I!
But this phase has alas past.
What’s it about, it’s all the same:
Even if I were the luckiest girl,
the time lost would still unfurl!
Even with sickness, life goes on,
just for me, somewhat slower …
Doesn’t time also lend its wisdom?
Today I know what I know:
Finally adapting
following conclusions discerned:

My soul wants to go forward!
See everything much, much clearer!
So much insight!
Find the truth!
Truth makes us free!
My life is not over!

Even when lying in chains …
Disorder surmounting body …
Body into the soul …
I claim here, cheekily,
With dignity I go on!

So: Can you understand me?

(October 2012)

***********************************************************************

SLEEPLESS

The night
is made for sleeping!
So that one does nothing.
Time to relax, time for calm,
And otherwise oblivion.
Nature in entirety
follows this rhythm.
But my inner clock
Urgently, needs adjustment.

She does still tick,
but:
Something is awry,
kaputt!

When and where?
I don’t know.
What exactly?
That I know:
I have Morbus Parkinson.
Only,
The missing piece
no longer exists!
Replacement warehouse?
All sold out!
I never would have thought!
A simple case of bad luck!

MY inner working clock wakes me
after 3 hours at the most, but:
it’s simply not enough!
Unfortunately I see: no solution in sight!
Everything has been tried:
I’ve taken the pills,
Was given special treatment,
No matter if sober,
No matter if drunk …
It took a long time,
but finally I’ve understood:
I must simply live with it!
For worse or for good …

Conclusion:
Therefore I’m very tired,
and that’s simply not good,
but I try to keep my chin held high!
Isn’t there positive in everything?
Is there reason for it all?
I’ve thought it over again and again,
For hours ever night.
The result?
Unfortunately still waiting …
Not my fault!
Practicing patience!
Still long is this night!

You never have to ask about it,
for when I know I’ll make sure to tell you!

Sleep gingerly my dear,
I wish You a long and heavy ear.

***********************************************************************

DUM SPIRO SPERO (as long as I’m breathing, I have hope)

I am because I breathe,
Otherwise I’d long be dead,
But I need air!
Or breathless I become.

The danger that I suffocate…
Not incredibly comfortable!
To hear the last seconds tick:
Certainly not enjoyable!

No one wants to live through that!
Not something we strive for…
But to be fearful, and shake,
Would also be a mistake.

One must go fetch the air,
that lies right in one’s hand!
Deep breath” was recommended.
As obvious as the sand.

Breathe regularly my dear
deep down, down to your gut!
Don’t forget to exhale,
Don’t forget, don’t be silly.

Everyone breathes for himself,
Each one alone!
So are we and so we stay,
Still for a little while.

And as long as there is hope,
hope dies last, anyway!
So, never give up this last hope!
Dum spiro spero

(2014)

***********************************************************************

Original poems in german:

STÖRUNG

Ich fühle mich belästigt
Werd‘ andauernd gestört
Nichts ist mehr wie es sollte
wie ´s war und sich gehört
Die Störung sie beherrscht mich
Drum bin ich so empört
Weil ich das gar nicht möchte
Einfach nur unerhört

Egal was ich auch mache
der Störenfried ist da
Er geht mir auf die Nerven
obwohl ich ihn nie sah
Er hemmt meine Bewegung
Macht dass ich langsam bin
Du möchtest wissen wie das geht
Nun, sie steckt in mir drin!

Die Störung hat ‘nen Namen
Meine heißt Parkinson
‘ne chronische Erkrankung
Bestimmt gehört davon
Am Anfang tut’s dich ärgern
doch leider mit der Zeit
empfindest du `s als Störung
Ich bin es wirklich Leid

Wenn du noch nicht erlebt hast
wie‘s einem damit geht
dann freue dich gewaltig
dass es gut um dich steht
Genieße jede Stunde
Ja, jeden Augenblick
Denn die kann man nicht nachholen
Nein, Zeit kommt nie zurück

Meine persönliche Konklusion:

Der Parkinson der stört mich zwar
und das sogar erheblich
Dagegen anzukämpfen nützt nicht viel
wäre sogar vergeblich
Aufgeben?
Nein, möcht’ ich nicht
doch so geht’s auch nicht weiter
Drum hab’ ich mir was überlegt
und das stimmt mich recht heiter

Es gibt einen Bereich in mir,
das sind meine Gedanken,
die sind bekanntermaßen frei,
für die gibt’s keine Schranken!
Ja, in Gedanken tanz’ ich wild,
Ich renne und ich fliege
Auf diese Art hab ich’s Gefühl
dass ich Ihn DOCH besiege

Ja, in Gedanken bin ich frei!
Da lass’ ich mich nicht stören
Da mach’ ich nur das was ich will
weil sie nur mir gehören

(Januar 2015)

***********************************************************************

RÜCKWÄRTS

Die Krankheit schreitet fort
Da geht es also vorwärts
Aber das ist nicht gut
Da geh ich lieber rückwärts
Denn rückwärts kommt man auch voran
Zwar nicht so schnell doch irgendwann
erreicht man so doch auch sein Ziel
Auch wenn es bringt dir nicht sehr viel,
besser als nichts, immerhin!
Sogar auf Umwegen und im Schleichen,
kann man auch sein Ziel erreichen …
Ich mir da ziemlich sicher bin!

(Januar 2015)

***********************************************************************

TANZE …

Ich tanze für mein Leben gern
Als Kind schon
und auch heute noch
Und wenn mich jemand auffordert
so sag ich meistens: gerne doch!
Egal wo und wann und wie
Egal mit wem und auch allein
Nein sage ich beim tanzen nie
Die Musik muss nur rhythmisch sein

Ob ich es kann, das weiß ich nicht
Ich weiß nur, dass ich tanzen will
Auch wenn ich’s nie gelernt habe
bei Musik kann ich nicht still!

Sogar bei Nacht träum ich davon

Doch nun habe ich Parkinson …

… seitdem klappt es, obwohl mir wichtig,
mit dem Tanzen nicht mehr richtig …

Schlimm find ich das schon!
(2014)

***********************************************************************

RHYTHMUS

Jeder Mensch hat seinen Rhythmus
Bio-Rhythmus auch genannt
Wichtig für das Wohlbefinden
Das ist allgemein bekannt
Doch verlor ich diesen Rhythmus
Ja, mit Rhythmus ist nun Schluss!
Weil Nachts da bin ich oft hellwach,
am Tag dafür müde und schwach …
Dann überbeweglich,
dann wieder unbeweglich …
und das stört mich ganz erheblich!

Grad deshalb, sogar deswegen,
soll ich mich sehr viel bewegen!
Soll immmer in Bewegung sein,
sonst friert mir die Bewegung ein!
Soll Sport machen, laufen, schwimmen,
immer schön die Muskeln trimmen …
Das tut mir gut.
Wat mutt dat mutt!

Es muss halt sein …

Doch mit Musik macht Sport mehr Spaß,
so zum Beispiel wie bei Zumba:
Ja! Genau richtig wäre das!
Doch mit Parkinson zu schwer.
Früher hab ich … heut nicht mehr …
Trocken-Übungen alle Tage.
Langweilig! Gar keine Frage!

Da ich musste ich doch etwas machen!
Und so hab’ ich, du wirst lachen,
ganz alleine, nur für mich,
(vielleicht wär’s auch etwas für dich!?)
mir ein „Tänzchen“ ausgedacht!
Kannst mir glauben, dass es Spaß gemacht!
Choreografisch zwar nicht einwandfrei
Doch das ist mir egal,
denn ich fühl mich gut dabei!

(Oktober 2014)

***********************************************************************

COGITO, ERGO SUM

Ich denke, also bin ich“
Das sagte einst … wie hieß der Mann?
„Descartes“ nicht mehr denken kann … 🙂
Ich kann’s noch, also bin ich.
Doch könnt ich’s nicht, was dann?

Wäre ich dann nicht?

Bin ich nur, weil ich denken kann?

Wenn die Gefühle intensiv
handelt der Mensch oft impulsiv!
Folgen? Denkt er nicht dran …

Bei einer Zwangsneurose hingegen
ist der Zwang zum Denken überlegen.
Doch man nichts dafür kann ..
Dann gibt es noch die Mitläufer,
die denken selber nie!
„Der Meister denkt für alle mit“
ihre Philosophie.

Wo fängt denken also an?

Ab wann bin ich, ab wann?

(2014)

***********************************************************************

BESOFFEN?

Ganz unverhofft
fragt man mich oft
Warum ich soviel trinke
Das sei nicht gut
Man macht mir Mut
Ich mich dafür bedanke!

Doch glaubt nicht ich sei angetrunken
Das war ich echt noch nie
Auch wenn ich manchmal Lall’
Ich wanke und ich schwanke zwar
Doch das ich trinke ist nicht wahr
Nein, nicht in meinem Fall!

Erlaubt mir das ich ‘s euch erkläre
Wird Zeit das ich mich auch mal wehre
Auch wenn’s den Anschein hat
Lustig finde ich es nicht
wenn jemand mit mir so spricht
Ich hab’ das gründlich satt…

Inzwischen weißt du es ja schon:
Ich habe Morbus Parkinson
Schluck’ Unmengen an Medikamente
Da gibt es Nebenwirkungen
Da gibt es Wechselwirkungen
Das auch mal mitbedenke!

Fazit:
Verurteile jemanden doch nicht
nur weil er vielleicht lallend spricht
nur weil er schwankt auf seinen Beinen
Egal was man da könnte meinen…
Vielleicht er gar nichts dafür kann
und eigentlich geht es dich auch nichts an!

***********************************************************************

ZUGFAHRT

Ich sitze in ‘nem Bummelzug
mit der Aufschrift Parkinson
Einsteigen kannst du jederzeit
Anhalten tut er manchmal schon
Dann öffnet sich die Tür ganz weit
Ohne Bedenken steigst du ein
“Wir fahren los” der Schaffner schreit!
Doch bald tut dir der Einstieg leid …

Der Zug fährt langsam doch beständig
Berg und Talfahrt
Nicht sehr wendig
ins Ungewisse, ohne Eile
Deshalb dauert’s doch ‘ne Weile
bis dir langsam wird bewusst
dass du wohl auf dieser Reise
gutes Sitzfleisch haben musst!

Anfangs denkst du nicht so dran:
Du meinst das Leid
sei noch sehr weit
Das man vielleicht doch irgendwann
den Zug verlassen kann …
Doch mit der Zeit begreifst du dann
das keinem das bislang gelang!
Wie im Gefängnis: bleiben ist Zwang!
ohne Bewährung,
mit viel Entbehrung
lebenslang ….

Die Frage, die sich mir hier stellt, ist
(vielleicht etwas verwegen):
Bleib ich?
Oder springe ich?
(Bin noch am überlegen …)

***********************************************************************

DAMALS

“Damals” da regierte
bei mir noch der Verstand
Mein Geist besaß zum Körper
eindeutig Oberhand
Er war’s, der mir diktierte:
“hier geht es heute lang”
Mein Körper war dem Untertan
Doch das ist anders momentan
und macht mich etwas bang

Wie ich das meine, fragst du nun:
Nun denn, ich habe Parkinson
und das seit einigen Jahren
Es gab Gerangel in letzter Zeit:
Verstand und Körper hatten Streit
Das könnt ihr ruhig erfahren
Es ziemlich eskalierte
doch keiner der da triumphierte

Zwar sind sie die beiden noch vorhanden
doch das was fehlt ist Harmonie
Der Körper fühlt sich unverstandenen
und das war früher so noch nie
Verstand kann Körper nicht verstehen
Früher konnte er doch auch gut gehen
Alles hat er mitgemacht
Und dabei immer viel gelacht
Was ist wann denn nur geschehen

Es sieht wohl so aus das er streikt
Er sehr zum rebellieren neigt
Ja, er macht grade was er will
und steht dabei fast niemals still
Offensichtlich, so oder so
ist er nicht wie früher froh!
Körper außer Rand und Band
Das was ihm fehlt ist die führende Hand!

So sind die beiden, leider heute,
Irgendwie “Geschiedene Leute”
Obwohl dem äußerlich doch nicht so ist
Dabei zerrissen fühl ich mich
Geteilt durch zwei, innerlich!

Sei froh, wenn Du noch “ganz” bist!!!

5 thoughts on “Disorder

  1. Ich möchte mich auf diesem Wege nochmal ganz ganz herzlich bei Clint Lutes für das Übersetzen meiner Gedichte ins englische bedanken.
    He did a real good job, didn’t he!!!???
    Liebe Grüße nach Paris!

  2. Ik wil mijn [oudere] zus zeggen dat ik onder de indruk ben van de manier waarop zij met haar ziekte omgaat. Haar gedichten zijn “uit haar leven gegrepen” momenten die ze vast gelegd heeft.
    Het ontroert me. Ik hoop dat ze op deze manier gevoelens verwoordt van anderen die zich hierin herkennen.
    Ik ben trots op je!

  3. Hi Renee,
    Today I received your gift, last week I was sick.
    It is a touching gesture by you, a very kind and generous gesture I should add. I appreciate it, it warms my heart and I hope that someday in the near future I will reciprocate it.
    Danny

Leave a Reply

